Lynx continue their strong start to the season
November 12, 2016

By LC Student Wrestling Manager Kasey McCracken

This Saturday the Lincoln College (LC) Wrestling team continued their season at the Millikin Open in Decatur, IL. The team earned 6 spots in the finals and came out with 3 champions: Christian Kanzler, Tyree Overton & Logan Hagerbaumer plus 2 third place finishers.

Kanzler, an LC freshman, won 2 decisions to earn his spot in the finals and a major decision (16-6) in the championship bout.  This is Kanzler’s second tournament win this season.  Kanzler commented on his successes, “Mindset, like throughout the week just making sure my body feels good, my mind is right, and when it is time to compete lay the hammer down and let it all fly.”

Overton, an LC sophomore, started off the day with a pin and a decision to earn his spot in the finals, where he got a major decision (19-5).  Regarding LC Wrestling’s progress the past 2 tournameents, Overton stated “Everybody is wrestling hard, everybody is wrestling tough”.

Hagerbaumer, also an LC sophomore, began his journey to the finals with a tech fall, a pin, & a 4-3 win in his semi-final match.  He won an 8-7 nailbiter in the finals.

Head Coach Daryl Thomas stated “Overall, as I go back and look at it and think about what we were able to do, I think it was another good weekend and a good step in the right direction”. The LC Wrestling team brought back 20 placers & champions.

Saturday, November, 19, 2016; the Lynx Wrestling team will travel to Lindenwood University to compete in the Joe Perisi Open.

To follow the LC Wrestling Program via competition updates, please view LC Student Articles.

Lincoln College Millikin Open results

125 lbs. 5th  – Tyler Wood;  8th – Dalton Kinison
133 lbs. 2nd – DJ Millett; 7th – Jaime Valdez; 8th – Brenden McGee
141 lbs. Champion Christian Kanzler; 6th – Wilyonde Bell; 8th – Stephen Bastien
149 lbs. 2nd – Elijah Dunn
157 lbs. 5th – Shaylan Loomis
165 lbs. 2nd – Alex Gonzalez; 5th – Daniel Burnley
174 lbs. Champion – Tyree Overton; 4th – Haggen Meyer
184 lbs. Champion – Logan Hagerbaumer
197 lbs. 3rd – Daltyn Dodd
285 lbs. 3rd – Matt Kent; 5th – Edthao Crumb; 6th – Tyler Hearns; 7th – Cody Cannon

Copyright © by Coach Shannyn,  All rights reserved